The Holiday Diaries: No bake Gooseberry Cheesecake

I must admit that I was quite apprehensive about making this cheesecake. I had never made it before even though I am a huge fan. I scoured the internet for what seemed like forever trying to find one that suited my…capabilities (or lack thereof) in this specific department. I had found one which I liked, but once I had made it, I found it to be too sweet and not have enough tartness. The next time I made it, I changed things up a bit and came up with this recipe which I love. I decided to use tiny individual casings for this instead of a big dish and got 8 servings out of this recipe.

 

*A note on the gooseberries

I have always loved berries in any way, shape or form; be it as a juice, yogurt a topping, ice-cream- you name it, chances are, I like it. As I was growing up, one of my aunts had a gooseberry tree outside her house and I remember stealing from them every time we visited. Now I know that gooseberries aren’t exactly the popular choice when it comes to selecting berries for any purposes. However, when I went shopping for this recipe, the ONLY berries in the shop were gooseberries. So I guess it forced me to be a bit more creative and was a lovely reminder of my childhood. As it turns out, the gooseberries were perfect because the filling of the cheesecake was rather sweet. The tartness of the gooseberries cuts the sweetness perfectly and I definitely think that when I make this cheesecake in the future, I will be using gooseberries again. However, they can be substituted for any berries or other topping you wish to have on top of your cheesecake. Be creative!

Ingredients

1 package tennis biscuits (or any biscuit you wish to use as a base)

½ cup melted unsalted butter

250g cream cheese, softened at room temperature

3/4 cup powdered sugar

250ml fresh cream

2tsbp vanilla essence or extract

2tbsp of freshly squeezed lemon juice

250g gooseberries

½ cup of sugar

1 cup of water

 

Method

The Crust

  1. Crush the tennis biscuits.
  2. Combine the crumbs and the butter and press it into your dish.
  3. Refrigerate the crust whilst preparing the filling.

The Filling

  1. For the filling, whip the cream to firm peaks. However, do not over-whip it to be too stiff.
  2. In a separate bowl, mix the cream cheese until soft and smooth. This will make it easier to combine with the whipped cream.
  3. Mix together the cream cheese, whipped cream as well as icing sugar.
  4. Add the lemon juice and vanilla and mix well.
  5. Pour the filling onto the crust and refrigerate for 2-3 hours.

The Syrup

  1. While the filling is setting, prepare the syrup. On a medium high heat, add the sugar and half of the water.
  2. Stir until the sugar has completely dissolved and the mixture has come to a simmer.
  3.  Add the gooseberries and allow to cook for 25-30 minutes, stirring every 3-5 minutes.
  4. Once the gooseberries have softened, flatten some of them with a fork, leaving some chunky pieces as well. This will allow more of the natural flavour to escape and thicken the syrup.
  5. Remove from the heat and allow it to cool completely before pouring it over the filling.
  6. Allow the cheesecake to set for at least 8 hours or overnight.

 

I hope that you try this fantastic, easy recipe. I will definitely be making this again!

Leave a Reply

