Water Infusions

Although water is great for many reasons, I particularly need it for once specific reason: dry skin. Now that winter is in full force here in Cape Town, my dry skin has become worse than ever before. I have read on multiple articles, nooks and crannies on the internet that water is good for hydrating skin (a no brainer, right?).

For me, dry skin is genetic. My mother suffered from severe dry skin and now as I am getting older, I find myself discovering the same things resonating in myself. The skin on my face becomes drier, my lips begin to crack and my scalp becomes flaky are the typical signs of a change in the season for me. It’s like I have my own built in weather station. Time to up the water intake.

I enjoy water; but up to a certain point. And sometimes it gets really boring because let’s be honest-it doesn’t really taste like anything does it? Here are some of my favourite ways to spruce up water and this may be especially helpful if you’re trying to get your kids to drink more water. Constantly change up the flavours to avoid drinking the same old stuff.

 

Lemon and Mint

Lemon is a classic additive to water, but you can jazz it up a bit by adding a few leaves of mint. I’m lucky to have mint growing at home so that’s free for me (even mint on its own is great too). If you want a stronger lemon flavour, add a few drops of pure lemon juice. This is especially great in winter for increasing the amount of vitamin C you consume.

Apple

This is definitely a favourite for me. Just cut the apples up however you like (I prefer wedges) and pop them into your water. The flavour is extremely refreshing and a must to try out if you haven’t before.

Cucumber

An oldie, but a goodie. Cucumber was probably the first thing I have ever added to my water and it had me hooked from the get-go. It has a flavour which I could only describe as clean and fresh. It is a simple yet absolutely delicious flavour.

Orange

FullSizeRender (13)

 

This one I would suggest if you are looking for something a little bit more sweet. The flavour of the orange infuses beautifully with the water so that each sip is as good as the last. For each one of these infusions I suggest preparing them at least the night before and allowing them to chill so that the water and the fruit (or vegetable) has enough time to infuse its flavours.

Leave a Reply

