Quick and easy Chicken Curry

A few nights ago my dad made a very special request for dinner which he hardly does. He asked me to make chicken curry. Now, I must admit that I was extremely apprehensive about it because I had never made chicken curry before. And so I did what any clueless person would: I Googled a recipe. There were so many variants with ingredients such as yogurt and coconut milk which I do not recall my mom using when she made chicken curry. Eventually, I found some similarities in the recipes and came up with my own little recipe which turned out to be really tasty. This recipe took about 40 minutes in total (because I cheated and popped the potatoes into the microwave to soften a bit first).

Ingredients

•1 thinly sliced onion

•10 pieces of chicken ( I used thighs and drumsticks)

•5-6 medium sized potatoes, peeled and chopped into bite sized pieces

•2 teaspoons garlic

•2 teaspoons ginger

•2 bay leaves

•1 teaspoon cayenne pepper

•1 tablespoon medium curry powder

•1/2 tablespoon hot curry powder

•2 cups water or chicken stock

•2 tablespoons oil

•salt and pepper to taste
Method

•On a medium high heat, sweat down the onions, garlic and ginger until the onions are translucent.

•Add the chicken and cook for about 5 minutes on either side or until a golden brown colour appears.

•Add the chicken stock or water and allow it to come to a slow boil.

•In a separate pot, add all of the remaining spices and a few drops of water to form a paste. Allow the “raw” flavor of the spices to cook through. This should take about 5 minutes.

•Add the spices to the chicken and stir well until combined.

•If you wish to speed up the cooking process, you can microwave the potatoes for about 15 minutes or until they are almost completely cooked through and then add them to the pot or you could add them to the pot raw and cook them for the full duration in there.

• Once the potatoes have softened, the curry is ready to be served.

NB: I consider this curry to be a medium heat and it had enough punch for me. However, if you require more heat, adding a chopped up chilli or 2 would spice it up. On the other hand, if you need less heat, half all of the amounts of spices and taste as you go along. You could always add more, but you can never take away.

One comment

Leave a Reply

